How I Insure My New Expensive Formigli

I Didn’t Think My New Formigli Would Cost What it Did – But It’s Really Worth It!
I’ve finally finished the build of my new Formigli steel classic frame. I absolutely love it and I’ll describe the components below. I was fortunate to have a brother-in-law in the business who helped me keep control the cost on my SRAM components and Ted’s Manhattan Cycles (Manhattan Beach, CA) gave me the South Bay Wheelmen club discount. This really helped, but the total cost of the completed bicycle still was in excess of $7,000, which really is a fair piece of change – at least it is for me.

Note:  Please contact us if you are interested in purchasing a Formigli frame.

How I’m Going to Safeguard “Fred”
My previous post describes how “Fred” Formigli earned his name. I’m going to insure Fred through the new bicycle insurance program offered by USA Cycling, but I’m tracking all of the component information and the purchase price in my MyBikeInfo iPhone App. [see the images below].

If I ever loose the bike or if someone “borrows’ it, I simply export the information and the photos and give the data to the police and to my insurance company. Fred’s entry is at the bottom of the image.

wpid-mybikeinfo-index-2011-01-30-17-49.jpg

Fred’s Setup
A number of people have asked my how I’ve equipped Fred, so here it is. The steel frame is a bit heavier than carbon, but I only race in the velodrome and in road time trial events, so Fred is setup for century rides and climbs.  In my opinion, it’s hard to beat the comfort and feel of steel on long road rides.

OK. Here are the stats:

Weight – 21 pounds
Frame – Columbus steel with steel fork
Drive train – SRAM Force with SRAM Rival rear derailleur to accommodate the 11-32 rear cassette [I can climb a light pole with this ratio.]
Rear wheel – Zipp Flash Point FP60
Front wheel – Zipp 404 ( I swap this wheel between Fred and Zonker (my Elite T Class time trial bike)
Classic steel wire water bottle cages
Fizik Arione seat
Cane creek head set
SRAM bottom bracket
Look Arc pedals – I use these because I have 5 bicycles with these pedals, they work fine, and I don’t want to purchase five new pedal sets.  [I snag replacement cleats from the Internet, thanks to the Internet’s “Long Tail.”]

Blue and green on the handlebars and seat to match the Prostate Cancer Awareness Project logo.  Cycling kit by great design team at Primal Wear.

wpid-img_0641-2011-01-30-17-491.jpg

The Build Up
Manny Felix, who I believe is the best mechanic in the South Bay – if not in all of Los Angeles did the build out and Ted Ernst did the fitting. Fred got his maiden voyage on January 28th, and he will take me through the Palm Springs Century at the end of this month.

wpid-img_0634-2011-01-30-17-491.jpg

Ted’s Manhattan Cycles
In my view, the best bike shop in the South Bay

wpid-img_0637-2011-01-30-17-491.jpg

Stayed tuned for the prostate cancer awareness “Adventures of Fred.”

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Adventures of Fred, Bike Fitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

