Prostate Cancer Awareness Guy’s 4-Hour Body

Timothy Ferriss

Image via Wikipedia

You Can Never Be Too Thin or Too Fast
If you follow this blog, you know that one of the key elements of my personal prostate cancer battle plan is keeping my weight down, and I do this through my bicycling program.

I’ve always been a reasonably slim guy; I’m currently 154 pounds and 5’ 10” in height, which seems pretty good, but every extra ounce is unneeded weight that I need to pedal up a hill. So, just how much can I lose?

The Ride of the Immortals – Don’t Carry What You Don’t Need
This August 27th, I will attempt to complete this 137 mile, one-day ride that just happens to include 17,525 feet of vertical climb.

So, how much weight should I shed? There are lots of body mass calculators on the Internet, and I used one at Halls MD. This website has a number of calculators based on different philosophies, so you can get a feel for the different ranges for your body type.

I have a fairly slender build, so I use the small frame calculator. The ‘medical recommendation’ calculator showed my ideal range to be 132 – 174 (that’s quite a range, isn’t it), with a target body mass index of 19 – 25.

I don’t want to be too gaunt, so I’ve settled on a target weight of 136 pounds for the ride. This is just above me minimum ideal medical weight, and should set me up perfectly for the Masters National Track Championship that will be held at Trexler Town, PA, the first week of September.

Power to Weight Ratio – What You Don’t Need Can Hurt You
We all are familiar with this ratio, and this is one of the reasons I’m focused on shedding a few pounds. The lower the mass I need to move with a given power, the faster I can accelerate and the easier I can climb.

Acceleration matters in all competitive athletic events, and nowhere it is more pronounced than in track bicycle racing where winning or losing is in the hundredths of a second, and some times even less.

This acceleration inertia also matters in climbing, which is why the professional bicyclists that are good climbers typically are small but powerful.

So, how much power will I have save if I can drop from 154 to 136 pounds? The answer is about 5%, which I think is pretty significant.

I found the calculator I used for calculation on the website for the UK’s National Cyclist Organization – CTC.

My Very Own 4-Hour Bicycling Body
As I mentioned in a previous post, I read Timothy Ferriss’s 4-Hour Workweek a few years ago and actually used some of his suggestions in my business. In fact, it’s the reason we have developed our TrakPointe task tracking system, which we just sold into our second bank.

I’ve been struggling with those extra few pounds for the entire past year. My weight loss has been complicated by the fact that one of our children is living with again during her post-university job hunt, and the “kid food” that comes with the bubbly personality goes directly on my handles.

Enter the 4-Hour body; I now am on week two of Ferriss’s “Slow Carb” diet.

I don’t have time in this post to explain the details – I will in future posts, but thus far I have lost 1.4 kilos (3 pounds) in 8 days. This is promising! 150 pounds; just 14 to go.

Until next post, I’m thankful for another day in paradise. Keep the rubber side down! Warm regards, Robert

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Adventures of Fred and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

