“Only Put Off Until Tomorrow What You are Willing to Die Left Undone”

Pablo Picasso.

Image via Wikipedia

So said Pablo Picasso, and what a great life he had.

You probably knew the origin of the title quote as soon as you saw it.  And to me, it still rings true today.

When Did You Earn Your Bicycle “Wings”?

Most of us learned to ride a bicycle when we were very young.  Mastering riding solo was an early rite of passage, as least is was for me.  Once I could ride along I had freedom.  At least freedom to go as far as Mom would allow.  But that was in a much earlier and much friendlier age.

I’ve had many adventures in life thanks to an Army career – airborne training, flight school – but adventuring out of my bicycle still gives me a thrill.

A Bicycle Still Represents a Sense of Freedom

As I mentioned in an earlier post, several weeks ago I rode the Solvang Century with two friends, and it was a wonderful ride.  A bit cool and breezy, but this was my first time on this route and everything was new, exciting, and fun, including the 49.5 mph bomb down what must have been an almost three mile descent.

I must say that my Formigli Classic rides incredibly smoothly.  I’ve experience a high-speed oscillation with my Serotta Davis Phinney doing around 50 mph and I must have shortened my life by at least 5 years.  The Formigli, however, was rock solid and so responsive.  I honestly don’t know if it was the frame, the Zipp wheels or what, but that descent was an absolute thrill.

We combined the trip with catching up on old times and just a bit of wine tasting the day before.  As one of my friends would say, “Sweet.”

Where to Next?

If you look at the right hand sidebar you’ll see the beginnings of my bicycling bucket list.  It’s not finished yet, but as you can see there are lots of adventures there.  Most of them look a bit challenging and they probably are.  But once finished they go into my permanent book of life.  The more difficult and challenging, the better the story.

This is the summit of Mont-Ventoux in France.  The goal here is to climb to the summit by all three roads in one day.  If you can, you earn a special jersey and become a member of the Club des Cinglés du Mont-Ventoux.  It is a select club.

Care to Ride Along?

If any of these places are on your list, I’m always happy to have company.  You can contact me through this blog, or through the MyBikeInfo or 29000men website.

I hope to see you somewhere along the road.

MyBikeInfo RSS Fees

If you have a favorite website, post it in the comment field and we’ll put it on the list for our RSS feed programming in the MyBikeInfo application.

Just another day in Paradise.  Warm regards,  Robert

 

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Adventures of Fast Freddy Formigli. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Only Put Off Until Tomorrow What You are Willing to Die Left Undone”

  1. Pingback: $25 for a Full Bicycle Tune-Up at Bike Universe ($50 Value) - Koream Deals

Leave a Reply

