Never Rear End a Bee at 39 Miles an Hour

l’Etape du California is in the History Books

Saturday was a great ride and the most challenging bicycle ride of my long career:  92.8 miles – from the start at Claremont, to the finish in the parking lot at Mt. Baldy ski area, and back to Claremont.

The total elevation was about 10,500 vertical feet, and I spent 8 hours, 14 minutes and 27 seconds in the saddle.  That was enough!

Just for fun. My heart rate & elevation data from my Garmin.

Base on my Garmin data, even though I thought I was totally bonked, I still should have had “gas in the tank” because my anaerobic threshold is 164.

Thank Goodness for a 32 Cog

My gearing setup was 50/34 with an 11-32 cassette, providing me with a 28.7 gear inch “bailout” gear, which I used a lot more than I anticipated.

The final timed climb up Mt. Baldy began at mile 70 and we already had climbed 8,200 feet.  If you’ve ridden Mt. Baldy, you know that the final mile or so is a 15%.  I could not have made that final climb without the the gearing I had on Freddy.

SPOT GPS Locator

I almost always carry my SPOT tracker with me and the image below shows the track of the ride.  I turned it off at the finish on Mt. Baldy, so it doesn’t reflect the ride back down to Claremont.  You can track me online at http://bit.ly/PCAwarenessGuy.  There’s iTunes dollars for people that find me with the password of the week.  I post the password on the 29000men.wordpress.com blog and on my Facebook account (Prostate Cancer Pony Express).

Oh Yes.  The Bee Comment

I ran into a bee at 39 miles an hour on the way back to Claremont and my eye looks like I tried to take on Mike Tyson!

Just another day in Paradise.  Warm regards,  Robert

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Adventure Cycling, Adventures of Fast Freddy Formigli, Adventures of PC Awareness Guy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

