How a Mortal Plans to do the Ride of the Immortals

An aerial view of the Palos Verdes Peninsula. ...

Palos Verdes Peninsula

Why I climb hills
It you follow this blog, you know that I’m a prostate cancer survivor (8.5 years) and that I’m big on exercise and good eating habits as the best tools we have within our individual control to prevent the recurrence of cancer or, for that matter, to prevent it in the first place.

My exercise program of choice includes yoga (one night per week), morning walks with my wife, two trips to the gym each week for weights, and as much cycling as i can get into my schedule.

I live near the LA Velodrome at the Home Depot Center so I try and ride there twice a week and then on the road twice a week, with one of those rides up to the top of San Pedro Hill on the Palos Verdes peninsula. You can track my rides on http://www.strava.com. Just search for Robert Hess with the 29000Men club.

Set no small goals
Jim Collins said something like that in his book, Good to Great, and somehow that has played out in my cycling. I can do 100 mile century bicycle rides with not too much effort, but the Ride of the Immortals this coming Saturday is epic: 137 miles, with 17,538’ of vertical climb. Just click this Son of Death Ride link to read a description of the route.

What am I thinking?
I have not a snowball’s chance on Kern Plateau of making the entire ride. The first 53 miles has 9,200’ of vertical climb.

That said, I, along with two friends, will ride as much of the course as we humanly can and enjoy every minute of it. Watch the blog for our pictures.

Follow us on Google
I plan to take my SPOT GPS tracker, so you should be able to follow our progress on Saturday on Google maps: http://bit.ly/PCAwarenessGuy

Fast Freddy is Ready. Well. . .
I’m riding my trusty Formigli Classic bike on Saturday, fully tricked out with SRAM Force 50/34 and 11/32. That 32 will come in handy. I must confess that I wish I had gone with Shimano 10-speed instead of the SRAM. The SRAM is loud, it clunks when it moves from cog-to-cog, and I can’t figure how to keep the chain from jumping off the chainrings. Anyone want to trade?

More later:-)

Just another day in Paradise.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Adventure Cycling, Adventures of Fast Freddy Formigli, Adventures of PC Awareness Guy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

