Stretching the Legs of my Elite T-Class Time Trial Bike

How to win a free pair of Sock Guy cycling socks

Today was my first ride of 2012 on Zonker, my time trial bike. I posted this morning on my Strava.com profile [http://strava.com/athletes/robertwhess] that I’ll send a free pair of Sock Guy cycling socks to the first person who can tell me why I named this bike “Zonker.” Just post your answer here or on my ride profile at Strava.com.

wpid-zonker-bollonacreek-2012-01-4-14-26.jpg

Why I bicycle

I’ve always enjoyed cycling, but I refocused my energy to it following my diagnosis and treatment for prostate cancer in 2012. My intuition told me that nutrition and exercise would help me keep the cancer from returning.

There still is no definitive, double-blind study proving the correlation, but evidence is mounting. I’m working my way through The Definitive Guide to Prostate Cancer by Dr. Aron E. Katz, and he makes clear the benefits of good nutrition and daily exercise. Bicycling is great aerobic exercise and it’s easy on the knees. You still need weight bearing exercise, but cycling is a great deal of fun.

How I plan to win the power-to-weight battle

I’m looking forward to this year’s California SoCal master’s track championships at the LA Velodrome.  I’m working on getting stronger, but also losing unneeded weight.

I can’t believe it, but at 5′ 10″ and 148 pounds, I still have 6 pounds of excess fat!  I weighed 142 pounds when I graduated from college.

What’s the chances I can get down to 142 pounds by June?  And that my wife will be seen in public with me!

Join me on Strava.com

If you’re a cyclist and would like to help with prostate cancer awareness, follow me on Strava, http://strava.com/athletes/robertwhess and join the 29000Men club on Strava.

You can create a free account on Strava. I think you’ll love it; it’s very motivational.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Adventures of PC Awareness Guy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.